The United States uses two insurance policies for motor vehicle accidents, depending on where you live. California is a fault state. However, other states use a no-fault policy regarding car accidents.
Continue reading to learn more about auto accidents in California. Knowing what to expect might help if you experience a motor vehicle accident.
California requirements for insurance
According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, all motorists must have evidence of their insurance in their vehicle. The minimum requirement is $15,000 for the injury or death of one person, $30,000 for the injury or death of multiple people and $5,000 for property damage. Since California is a fault state, all parties must file with the insurance provider that represents the person responsible for the accident. However, the liable driver might not admit fault leading to a lengthy filing process.
Insurance coverage out-of-state
No-fault states do not require proving fault unless significant damages caused by gross negligence occur. The question becomes, what happens if you get into an accident in a no-fault state? The short answer is that it depends on your insurance provider. Many insurance companies adjust their insurance laws according to the state where you get into an accident.
Drivers from out-of-state
The same applies to out-of-state drivers in California. It is the out-of-state driver’s responsibility to have insurance coverage that follows California law. Ignorance is not a valid defense.
You cannot account for other drivers on the road. Whether you never leave the state or commute regularly to other states, your responsibility is to have the right motor vehicle insurance. The monthly costs are worth it in the event of a car crash.